The Polls Are Open for the Scottish Youth Parliament

orkney-flagNews from Orkney Islands Council

Voting has opened  to elect Orkney’s two Members of the Scottish Youth Parliament (MSYPs).

The all-female candidate list for the upcoming Scottish Youth Parliament elections are, in alphabetical order,

  • Rachel Evans from Shapinsay
  • Elizabeth Gorn from Kirkwall
  • Emma Grant from Kirkwall
  • Hope Laing from Finstown
  • Shavon More from Kirkwall
  • Maya Tams-Gray from Rendall

A new video put together by Orkney Islands Council’s Community Learning and Development team who support candidates through their nomination and campaign has been launched on social media.

All the candidates were invited to take part in the video to tell their peers why, in 20 seconds or less, they should be elected. Over recent weeks the candidates have also been guests on BBC Radio Orkney.

Cheryl Rafferty, from the Council’s Community Learning and Development Team said:

“Following Year of Young People, there’s greater awareness on the importance of having more engagement and involvement with young people, so it’s a great time to get involved in the Scottish Youth Parliament.

“Voting for a candidate who is passionate about issues that matter to you too is one way you can have your voice heard on a national level. I’d urge all young people who are eligible to vote to make sure they do just that.”

The voting period will take place between Friday 15 March 2019 and Friday 29 March 2019. School pupils will cast their votes in school but anyone aged between 12 and 25, can cast their vote online, using their Young Scot card number, on the Scottish Youth Parliament website.

The results will be announced on 29 March 2019.

Further information on candidates standing for election and how to vote can be found on the Scottish Youth Parliament website.

Categories: Uncategorized

Tagged as: , , , ,

Leave a Reply