Make Sure You Are Registered to Vote

Orkney Constituency MSP, Liam McArthur, LibDem, has encouraged all Orkney residents to make sure they are registered to vote in the upcoming Scottish Parliamentary Election.

Liam McArthur has been selected by the Orkney Liberal Democrats to defend his seat on 6th May. He has been the Orkney Constituency MSP for 14 years. Previously the seat in the Scottish Parliament was held by Jim Wallace, LibDem, who now sits in the House of Lords as Baron Wallace of Tankerness.

Liam McArthur said:

“This election serves as an important opportunity for all islanders to shape how our community rebuilds from the Covid crisis.

“It’s therefore essential that everyone makes sure they’re registered to vote so that their voice is heard in this process. I would also encourage anyone who is not sure about voting in person to apply for a postal vote.

“The months ahead will be challenging, but that is why we need to put the recovery of our islands and our country first. If re-elected in May, that will be my priority.”

The seat will also be contested by Robert Leslie for the SNP..

LibDemLiam McArthur709667.4%+31.7
SNPDonna Heddle256224.3%-0.8
ConJamie Halcro Johnston4354.1%-4.3
LabGerry McGarvey3042.9%-2.7
IndPaul Dawson1371.3%
Liberal Democrat Hold
2016 Scottish Parliament Election Result for the Orkney Constituency

1 reply »

  1. The SNP’s islands minister has been accused of arrogance and complacency after he rejected the findings of a major investigation which branded the building of two new super-ferries a “catastrophic failure”.
    Bear this in mind when election time comes in May.

Leave a Reply