Local News

Vote now in the Scots Trad Music Awards

 110 artists and organisations are in the running for the 21st MG ALBA Scots Trad Music Awards with several Orkney nominees in the nominations.

The MG ALBA Scots Trad Music Awards has grown steadily over the past two decades to reflect the flourishing tapestry of Scotland’s traditional music scene.

 The awards – organised by Scotland’s traditional culture, music and arts organisation Hands Up For Trad – stand as a testament to the trad scene’s enduring appeal.

Simon Thoumire,  organiser of the MG ALBA Scots Trad Awards said:

“Reaching the milestone of the 21st edition of the MG ALBA Scots Trad Music Awards is a remarkable testament to the enduring legacy of traditional music in Scotland. Over the past two decades, we’ve witnessed the industry evolve, with a surge of emerging talent and exciting new events and festivals dedicated to our rich musical heritage. It’s heartening to see the abundance of exceptional nominees this year, showcasing the immense talent within our vibrant trad music community.

“As we celebrate this significant anniversary, I am thrilled to invite all fans of the genre to cast their votes for their favourite artists. Your participation is crucial in recognising and celebrating the exceptional contributions to the traditional music scene in Scotland and there’s still time to join us for the special celebrations this December.”

You can vote online : there are 22 categories. The winners will be announced at the annual award ceremony at Caird Hall in Dundee on Saturday 2nd December 2023.

 Voting closes on Sunday 19th November.

illustration of a man playing a fiddle who has been taken underground into a Mound by the pixies who are dancing to his music
Art by Martin Laird

Full list of nominees here:

Album of the Year, sponsored by Birnam CD

Citty Finlayson Scots Singer of the Year, sponsored by Traditional Music and Song Association of Scotland

Club of the Year

Community Project of the Year, sponsored by Traditional Arts and Culture Scotland

Composer of the Year, sponsored by PRS for Music

Event of the Year, sponsored by VisitScotland

Gaelic Singer of the Year, sponsored by Highland Society of London

Live Act of the Year, sponsored by Gordon Duncan Memorial Trust

Music Tutor of the Year, sponsored by Creative Scotland Youth Music Initiative

Musician of the Year, sponsored by University of the Highlands and Islands

Original Work of the Year, sponsored Musicians’ Union

Scottish Dance Band of the Year, sponsored by National Association of Accordion and Fiddle Clubs

Scottish Folk Band of the Year, sponsored by Threads of Sound

Scottish Pipe Band of the Year, sponsored by National Piping Centre

  • The Peoples Ford Boghall and Bathgate Caledonia Pipe Band
  • Renfrewshire Schools Pipe Band
  • Glasgow Skye Association Pipe Band

Trad Music in the Media, sponsored by Glasgow Caledonian University

Up and Coming Artist of the Year, sponsored by Royal Conservatoire of Scotland

Venue of the Year

A raft of industry awards will also recognise individuals and organisations which support the creative pipeline of the sector. Those finalists are:

Graphics Designer

  • Somhairle MacDonald
  • VanGill Media
  • Loom Graphics
  • Elly Lucas

Traditional Music Enabler

  • Lisa Whytock
  • Craig Corse, CCM Live
  • Dave Francis, Traditional Music Forum
  • Mhari McLeman, Shetland Folk Festival


  • Marc Marnie
  • Euan Robertson Photography
  • Paul Jennings
  • Eion Carey

Venue Technician

  • Moray Munro, Queen’s Hall, Edinburgh
  • Stirling Tolbooth Technical Team
  • Gary at the Ceilidh Place
  • Mike Adkins, An Lanntair 

Sue Wilson New Writer Award, sponsored by Songlines Magazine

  • Alana MacInnes – Uist Beò
  • Angus MacPhail – Oban Times 
  • Alan Murray

A number of special prizes will also be awarded on the night, selected by a panel of esteemed industry judges, for services to traditional music and culture. 

John Urquhart will receive the Services to Gaelic Award, sponsored by Bòrd na Gàidhlig; Donald Smith will be presented with The Hamish Henderson Services to Traditional Music Award, while Frieda Morrison will receive The Janet Paisley Services to Scots Language Award, sponsored by Creative Scotland.

As well as all category sponsors and the event’s headline sponsor, this year’s MG ALBA Scots Trad Music Awards are taking place with huge thanks to funding from The Northwood Trust and Dundee City Council.

The MG ALBA Scots Trad Music Awards will take place at the Caird Hall, Dundee on Saturday 2nd December. Voting closes on Sunday 19th November 2023 and tickets for the event are on sale now, with a friends and family discount available for nominees.

Leave a Reply