Candidate Focus: Andy Wightman

Scottish Parliament Election: Highlands and Islands Regional Candidates

When you vote in the Scottish Parliament elections on Thursday 6th of May 2021.There are two ballot papers.

  1. Orkney Constituency – First Past the Post – you have one vote
  2. Highlands and Islands Region – you have one vote – you vote for a political party or an independent individual

Andy Wightman: Independent

Andy Wightman was first elected to the Scottish Parliament in 2016 as a Scottish Green Party MSP. In this election he is standing as an independent for the Highlands and Islands Region having left the Scottish Greens.

On his campaign website Vote Andy Wightman he has set out his manifesto and his past track record both as an activist for land reform and as a MSP. He states:

“The Scottish Parliament needs more MSPs with an independent mind, unconstrained by the party machine but with a set of values rooted in effective representation, responsible law-making and determined scrutiny of the government of the day.

“My engagement with politics started in the 1980s when I campaigned against the commercial afforestation of the peatlands of Caithness and Sutherland. I was angry that wealthy individuals from London were exploiting this beautiful area for financial gain and concerned that its management was not instead in local hands. For over 30 years I have investigated and written about landed power and worked with communities across the Highlands and Islands to assist them to reclaim power over their local environment and community.

“Since 2016, I have been an MSP in Parliament, working effectively on behalf of constituents, leading high profile campaigns against unregulated short-term lets and winning a landmark legal case in the European Court of Justice that ruled that Article 50 of the European treaties could be revoked. My Members’ Bill to incorporate the European Charter of Local Self-Government was passed on 23 March. It strengthens local government and provides a legal remedy if any of the Charter rights are violated by Government.”

Many people will probably know of Andy Wightman through his book: The Poor Had No Lawyers, Who Owns Scotland And How They Got It.

Andy Wightman aims to increase local democracy and to bring together all the Highlands and Islands MSPs to work together for the benefit of the region.

“My first priority is to be a fearless, independent and effective representative for you, the voters of the Highlands and Islands. I will work across parties to deliver results. In particular, I will invite all MSPs in the region to join a Highlands and Islands caucus to work together beyond party interest on strategic issues of importance to the Highlands and Islands.”

To find out more about this candidate click on:

Highlands and Islands Regional Vote

There are 2 people standing as independents (not in a political party) and there are political party lists.

If you vote for an individual that is recorded as a vote for that person.

If you vote for a political party then, depending on the share of the vote that party gets across the whole region, the candidates are elected from that party selected list. The political parties have ranked their candidates according to their selection rules of who they think is the top one etc.

There are two Independents standing on the H&I list

  • Hazel Mansfield
  • Andy Wightman

Scottish National Party (SNP)

  1. Emma Roddick
  2. Kate Forbes
  3. Maree Todd
  4. Fergus Ewing
  5. Tom Wills
  6. Mike MacKenzie
  7. Robert Leslie
  8. Rhiannon Spear
  9. Jamie Szymkowiak
  10. Qasim Hanif
  11. Ken Gowans
  12. Sarah Fanet


  1. Douglas Ross
  2. Edward Mountain
  3. Donald Cameron
  4. Jamie Halcro Johnston
  5. Tim Eagle
  6. Ella Robertson McKay
  7. Struan Mackie
  8. Sam Brown
  9. Gavin Berkenheger
  10. Nick Tulloch


  1. Rhoda Grant
  2. John Erskine
  3. Marion Donaldson
  4. Jo Kirby
  5. Coilla Drake
  6. Lewis Whyte
  7. Shaun Fraser

Scottish Greens

  1. Ariane Burgess
  2. Anne Thomas
  3. Fabio Villani
  4. Steve Sankey
  5. Debra Nicolson
  6. Sand Ownsett
  7. Topher Dawson
  8. Lisa Jane Mead
  9. Chris Ballance
  10. Isabella Sumsion
  11. Phyl Meyer
  12. Luna Martin

Liberal Democrat

  1. Alan Reid
  2. Molly Nolan
  3. Denis Rixson
  4. William Sinclair
  5. Sheila Ritchie
  6. David Gregg
  7. Neil Mitchison


  1. Kirk Torrance
  2. Craig Berry
  3. Josh Robertson
  4. Judith Reid

All For Unity

  1. Moira Ramage
  2. Patricia Watson
  3. Robbie Munro
  4. Donald Boyd
  5. Paul Burrows
  6. Alastair Kennedy
  7. Paul Bradburn

Reform UK

  1. Sandra Skinner
  2. Les Durance
  3. Kate Brownlie
  4. Catherine Mount


  1. Robert Stephenson
  2. Robert Scorer
  3. Michael Burger de Frémol
  4. Duncan Geddes
  5. Alan Breeze
  6. Bryan Foster

Abolish The Scottish Parliament

Jack Malcolm

Freedom Alliance

  1. Tina McCaffery
  2. Emma Idzidowska
  3. Phil Breed
  4. Gary Cheesman
  5. Anne McCloskey

Restore Scotland

  1. Brian Nugent
  2. Andrew Macdonald

Scottish Family Party

  1. Michael Willis
  2. Phillipp Tanzer
  3. Shena McLelland
  4. Sophie Hendry
  5. Dolores Hughes

Scottish Libertarian Party

  1. Harry Christian
  2. Calum Liptrot


  1. Sean Robertson
  2. Yolanda Piotrowicz
  3. Luke Ivory

You can find out more here: Ballot Box Scotland

Orkney Constituency- there are 4 candidates standing:

  • Samuel Bown – Scottish Conservative and Unionist Party.
  • Coilla Drake – Scottish Labour Party.
  • Robert Fraser Leslie – Scottish National Party (SNP).
  • Liam Scott McArthur – Scottish Liberal Democrats.

Leave a Reply