Events

Silent Vigil to be Held for #Gaza

The tragedy unfolding in Gaza is part of an escalating series of events set off by Israeli settlers seeking to evict Palestinians from their homes.

Orkney Friends of Palestine will be holding a small silent vigil outside the St Magnus Cathedral, on Saturday 15th of May between midday and 1pm.

In Geneva, UN rights office spokesperson Rupert Colville cited reports that more than 900 Palestinians had been injured between 7 and 10 May in East Jerusalem, and over 200 in the West Bank, “most by Israeli security forces”, some of whom had also been hurt.

According to the UN agency responsible for assisting Palestinian refugees, UNRWA, eight Sheikh Jarrah families are under threat of eviction, in all, around 75 people.

A spokesperson for the UNRWA said:

“These families are Palestine refugees, who lost both their original homes and means of livelihood as a result of the 1948 conflict.

“In 1956, these refugee families moved into Sheikh Jarrah with the support of the Jordanian government and material assistance from UNRWA following their displacement. They have resided in these homes for nearly 70 years. They are now at risk of being displaced for the second time in living memory.”

Airstrikes have been carried out in Gaza by Israeli Defense Forces and Palestinian forces have retaliated with rockets.

Three residential tower blocks of flats have been destroyed by the air strikes.

Israeli Prime Minister Benjamin Netanyahu said:

“We will inflict blows on them that they have never dreamed of.”

 Rupert Colville UN rights office spokesperson  said:

“Israel must respect international humanitarian law, in particular the cardinal principles on the conduct of hostilities, namely distinction, proportionality and precautions.

“Any attack, including airstrikes, should be directed solely at military objectives and all feasible precautions must be taken to avoid civilian deaths and injury and damage to civilian objects.”

First Minister of Scotland, Nicola Sturgeon, commented that Israel should heed the calls to ‘halt the violence immediately.’

Protests and vigils will be taking place not just in Orkney. In London, on Saturday 15th of May, a march will assemble at Marble Arch at 12 midday.

There is also a Global online event : Nakba73: Global Online Rally For Palestine

Saturday 15th May marks the 73rd anniversary of the Nakba (catastrophe), when hundreds of thousands of Palestinians were forced from their land. The Nakba is ongoing, and today Palestinians are still fighting for freedom, justice, and equality.

As Israel attempts to ethnically cleanse Jerusalem and drops bombs on Gaza, join us for this global rally in solidarity with Palestine!

SPECIAL GUESTS INCLUDE:

Amer Zahr // Rafeef Ziadah // Mustafa Barghouti // Ghadir Al Shafie // Joshua Virasami // Nonhle Mbuthuma // Umar al-Ghubari // Ben Jamal // Stefanie Fox // Ghada Karmi // Omar Barghouti // speakers from #SaveSheikhJarrah… and more!!

Register now to hear our amazing lineup of Palestinian voices, musicians, and artists. We’ll be connecting across the world to take action for Palestine.

STARTS AT: 12pm New York (US Eastern Time) // 5pm London (BST) // 6pm Cape Town (SAST) // 7pm Jerusalem (EEST)Time

May 15, 2021 05:00 PM in London

2 replies »

Leave a Reply