Do you know a Bookbug Hero?

The Bookbug Hero Award and the Learning Professional Award 2020 run by the Scottish Book Trust, are open for applications.

Scottish Book Trust's Bookbug.

Photograph by Martin Shields

The Bookbug Hero Award is new this year and will be run in association with Walker Books. The award will honour someone working with Bookbug who has used the Programme to make a real difference to the lives of the young children, families and communities they work with.

Scottish Book Trust is asking people across the country to nominate a librarian, early years worker, volunteer, health visitor, or anyone who uses Bookbug in their work for the inaugural Bookbug Hero Award. The winner will receive a bundle of picture books worth £500 from Walker Books.

Learning Professional Award

Nominations are also open for the Learning Professional Award, now in its fourth year, which recognises a teacher or librarian who has had a powerful impact on the reading culture of young people and adults in their community.

School teachers and librarians across Scotland are urged to nominate inspiring colleagues who are passionate advocates of reading and writing in their place of work, for the award which will be presented at an event in April 2020. In partnership with Browns Books for Students, the winner will receive £500 worth of books for their school or library to help them continue their outstanding work.

Marc Lambert, CEO at Scottish Book Trust, said:

“At Scottish Book Trust, we work with so many passionate partners, and these awards allow us to celebrate their hard work. Every year, we uncover so many inspiring stories, and we encourage those who know a book-loving champion to highlight their great work. We are particularly excited to introduce a new award celebrating those who work so tirelessly with our Bookbug Programme across the country.Many thanks to Walker Books and Browns Books for Students for making these awards possible.”

Browns Books for Students also support the Outstanding Achievement Award.

Nominations for both awards close on 15 November, and can be made online at

Categories: Uncategorized

Tagged as: , , , ,

Leave a Reply